Our Board

Western Local Land Services is governed by a board of local people.

Board members work closely with landholders and local communities to identify and deliver services that are relevant to local needs.

Local boards are comprised of a mix of Ministerially-appointed and elected board members who bring a wealth of skills, experience and commitment to the organisation.

The Chair and four board members are appointed by the Minister for Agriculture and Western New South Wales while the remaining four board members are elected by Local Land Services ratepayers.

Together they focus on the strategic direction of the organisation, promoting the services offered, encouraging partnerships and building strong relationships with investors while also communicating the priorities and concerns of customers to local boards.

Section 29 of the Local Land Services Act 2013 sets out the functions of local boards. They are legally binding and should be interpreted as the definitive reference regarding the role of local boards.


Magnus Aitken, Deniliquin

This is Magnus’ third term on the Western Local Land Services Board, his second term as Chair after acting in the role previously.

Magnus has extensive experience in the pastoral industry and has spent the past 20 years managing large livestock businesses in the Western Riverina. He has held previous governance roles as a Non-Executive Director of Jemalong irrigation Ltd and Director on various community organisations; and is the immediate past Chair of SALRC Central & Western NSW and Qld Sheep Committee.

Magnus is a Fellow of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation and a member of the AICD.

Appointed Board members

Lawrence Clarke, Roto

Lawrence has broad networks throughout the western division via his involvement in the Griffith Aboriginal Medical Service and significant experience in Western Local Land Services including via the Western Local Land Services Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee. Lawrence is passionate about encouraging young people to get more involved in community activities. This is Lawrence’s second term on the Western Local Land Services Board.

Hugh McLean, Booligal

Hugh owns and manages a grazing operation in the Western region near Booligal. He has experience in the Rural Finance industry and has a good understanding of rural and regional businesses and the challenges they face. He has previous committee and Chair experience. This is Hugh’s second term on the Western Local Land Services Board.

Rebecca Bunyan, Booligal

Rebecca has a background in workforce and organisational development, primarily in government and non-government sectors such as health, education and emergency management. She currently works on a contract basis in related fields and is based on her husband's family merino property north of Booligal. Rebecca was appointed to the Western Local Land Services Board in 2019.

Felicity McLeod, Wentworth

Felicity lives and works on one of her family’s stations between Wentworth and Broken Hill. Passionate about the Far West, Felicity is involved with the NSW Farmers on the Goat Committee, Western Division Council and is an Executive Councillor for the Western Division. With an interest in both red meat and wool, Felicity was awarded a Nuffield Farming Scholarship, supported by Australian Wool Innovation, which allowed her to travel globally in 2017. Felicity was appointed to the Western Local Land Services Board in 2019.

Elected Board members

Garry Ross Hannigan, Broken Hill

Garry is a long term local landholder near Broken Hill and has spent 10 years working as a professional wool classer. He has been actively involved in various agricultural and community groups in western NSW. Garry gained extensive experience in meat production through the Nuffield Scholarship which he used to study organic lamb production. He is also experienced in holistic management and grazing for profit. This is Garry’s first term on the Western Local Land Services Board.

Michael Leonard Davis, Brewarrina

Michael has been a partner in his family’s grazing enterprises near Brewarrina for almost 40 years. He is a professional wool classer and is an active member of the community, with involvement in a range of industry and community groups and initiatives including the Isolated Children’s Parents Association. This is Michael’s first term on the Western Local Land Services Board.

Anita O’Connor, Milparinka

Anita has resided and worked at Mt Poole Station near Milparinka for nearly 40 years. She has been involved with her family grazing businesses throughout that time.  Anita has been heavily involved in her community especially with her representation on the Isolated Children’s Parents Association and Local Aboriginal Land Councils. Anita is passionate about natural resources and sustainable land management. This is Anita’s first term on the Western Local Land Services Board.

Kate McBride, Wentworth

Kate was elected in 2017 at just 19 and remains one of the youngest Local Land Service Board members in the state. She has been involved in agriculture in the Western Division from a young age and is a passionate advocate for the landholders of the region. She holds a Commerce degree from Adelaide University and currently works as a researcher focussing on rural Australia. This is Kate’s second term on the Western Local Land Services Board.

Related information