Our Board

South East Local Land Services is governed by a board of local people.

Board members work closely with landholders and local communities to identify and deliver services that are relevant to local needs.

Local boards are comprised of a mix of Ministerially-appointed and elected board members who bring a wealth of skills, experience and commitment to the organisation.

The Chair and three board members are appointed by the Minister for Primary Industries – the remaining three board members are elected by Local Land Services ratepayers.

Together they focus on the strategic direction of the organisation, promoting the services offered, encouraging partnerships and building strong relationships with investors while also communicating the priorities and concerns of customers to local boards.

Section 29 of the Local Land Services Act 2013 sets out the functions of local boards. They are legally binding and should be interpreted as the definitive reference regarding the role of local boards.

Board election 2020

We are currently in the process of determining the composition of our new boards around NSW.

Our current focus on voting for publicly elected board members which opens on Thursday 9 April and closes on Friday 8 May.

An announcement of the final boards is expected to be made in June.

Candidate list

Below is a list of candidates running for the South East Board in this year's election.

Read the South East candidate statements here. PDF, 201.48 KB

Lewis Crothers
Edward (Ted) Enston Rowley
Scott William Keyworth
Peter Davies
Nicholas James Drew
Rebecca Hogan
Robert Keith Ingram
Elizabeth Goodfellow
George Merriman
Nigel P Baines
John Charles Bennett


Allison Harker, Yass

Allison is passionate Primary Industries advocate and committed to the growth of rural communities and sustainable land management. Recognised for her extensive community engagement and strategic leadership, Allison has developed a broad network across regional Australia, working with numerous government sectors, industries and rural communities.

Before returning to Australia, Allison spent 15 years in Investment Banking based in London and Hong Kong. In her role as Director for Asia Pacific she was responsible for employees across six Asia Pacific countries. Allison was also a representative on the Operating Committee for Bank of America of America Merrill Lynch responsible for Organizational Performance and Governance.

Allison is now a Partner in her family’s mixed farming business based at Yass that has been operating since 1850. She is also a Local Government Councillor and Chair of the Yass Valley Economic & Development Committee.

Allison was appointed to the Acting Chair role for South East Local Land Service in 2018 with a vision of enhancing customer engagement and developing strong regional relationship that will assure the value of Local Land Services to their customers, clients and stakeholders.

You can contact Allison on 0448 063 191 or at allison.harker@lls.nsw.gov.au.

Appointed Board members

Ken Baxter, Robertson

Ken started his working life with the Graziers’ Association of NSW and has since built a career as a highly experienced senior executive working in the New South Wales and Victorian public service, the Prime Minister’s Department in Papua New Guinea and the Australian agricultural sector. Ken has sat on numerous boards throughout his career, including as Chair of the Australian Dairy Corporation and the Dairy Research and Development Corporation, and is a highly experienced director. Ken is a landowner and cattle producer in East Kangaloon and has been actively involved with landholders in the area to control fireweed, blackberries & feral animals.

You can contact Ken on 0413 554 244 or at ken.baxter@baxterassociates.com.au.

Fay Steward, Bega Valley

Fay Steward’s early career in rural and regional town planning focused primarily on developing strategic land use policy and strategy for various NSW Government land planning and management agencies.  She has held several executive management roles over the past 20 years in the private sector and local government centered on business planning and land use development.

More recently, as Executive Director Land Planning and Management for the ACT Government, she managed Canberra’s city’s services, national parks and commercial forests.

Fay has worked successfully with many community based organisations to establish co-operative agreements to manage parks and reserves with intrinsic natural and cultural values. Now retired, Fay is a small-scale beekeeper who is committed to supporting sustainable primary industries development through genuine community engagement.

You can contact Fay on 0423 889 486 or at tarragandahoney@gmail.com.

Bunja Smith, Batemans Bay

Bunja identifies as a Walbanga and Murramerang man from the greater Yuin nation and is a recognised Aboriginal Elder in his south coast community. He is a proven leader, capable of multitasking and maintains his own employment while influencing the advancement of Aboriginal people where ever possible.

He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and brings a wealth of experience to the South East Local Land Services Board.

He has formerly been a Director of the Batemans Bay Local Aboriginal Land Council, Director and Deputy Chair of the Southern NSW Medicare Local, Chair of Katungul Aboriginal Medical and Community Service and a Director Grand Pacific Health.

Currently he is the Chair of the Aboriginal Legal Service NSW & ACT and has recently been elected Chair of the Biamanga National Park Board of Management.

You can reach Bunja on 0401912193 or via email bunja.smith@yahoo.com.au.

Elected Board members

Stuart Burge, Numeralla 

Stuart Burge is an agronomist with over 30 years' experience with the NSW Department of Primary Industries and now as an independent agronomist. He runs a small irrigation and grazing property at Numeralla east of Cooma; has undertaken extensive research on key pasture, crop and natural resource management issues; developed and implemented regional weed control programs; and is a qualified group facilitator and trainer with project management and contract consulting experience.

You can contact Stuart on 0438 533 322 or at stuartburge@bigpond.com.

George Merriman, Boorowa

George Merriman is co-owner and general manager of Merryville Merino Stud, Boorowa.  Educated at Orange Agricultural College, he has since sought further training in environmental management, animal health and cropping. He is serving on committees including Boorowa Show Society,  New South Wales Merino Breeders and South West Stud Merino Breeders. He is currently a Fox baiting coordinator for the Boorowa District.

You can contact George on 0428 853 282 or at willowglen21@bigpond.com.

Mac Wilson, Grabben Gullen

Mac Wilson runs a wool and beef property at Grabben Gullen, near Crookwell with over 40 years' experience in owning, working and running the property. He was a former director and chairman of the Yass Rural Lands Protection Board; was an elected board member of the Tablelands Livestock Health and Pest Authority, and is an original and current member of the South East Regional Animal Health Committee.

You can contact Mac on 0417 383 834 or at mac.wilson.lls@gmail.com.