Our Board

Hunter Local Land Services is governed by a board of local people.

Board members work closely with landholders and local communities to identify and deliver services that are relevant to local needs.

Local boards are comprised of a mix of Ministerially-appointed and elected board members who bring a wealth of skills, experience and commitment to the organisation.

The Chair and three board members are appointed by the Minister for Primary Industries – the remaining three board members are elected by Local Land Services ratepayers.

Together they focus on the strategic direction of the organisation, promoting the services offered, encouraging partnerships and building strong relationships with investors while also communicating the priorities and concerns of customers to local boards.

Section 29 of the Local Land Services Act 2013 sets out the functions of local boards. They are legally binding and should be interpreted as the definitive reference regarding the role of local boards.

Board election 2020

We are currently in the process of determining the composition of our new boards around NSW.

Our current focus on voting for publicly elected board members which opens on Thursday 9 April and closes on Friday 8 May.

An announcement of the final boards is expected to be made in June.

Candidate list

Below is a list of candidates running for the Hunter Board in this year's election.

Read the Hunter candidate statements here.  PDF, 336.83 KB

Peter Campbell
Art Brown
Duncan Campbell
Deborah Willis
Patrick Ryan
Tracy Norman
Jamie Andrews
Philippa Byrnes
Lauren Elizabeth Murray
Julie Emerson
Brett Gleeson

Acting Chair

Tony Hegarty, Cassilis

Phone: 0427 761 052 or email

Tony runs a beef cattle enterprise at Cassilis. He's on the Executive Council of the NSW Farmers Association, is a board member of the Cattle Council of Australia, and has been actively involved with the Merriwa Landcare Group since its inception in 1989. Tony has a Bachelor of Agricultural Science and has undertaken ongoing education in holistic farming and natural resource management.

Appointed Board members

Robyn Parker

Phone: 0427 015 049  or email

Robyn has a deep understanding of the Hunter region and it’s diverse agricultural and environmental landscapes. Robyn brings a unique, strong and well-established network of contacts and relationships to Hunter LLS. Robyn has over 30 years of public sector experience and served in the NSW Parliament for 12 years serving first as a Member of the Legislative Council followed by four years as the Member for Maitland.

Allison Mudford

Phone: 0458 427 286  or email

Alli Mudford is passionate about agriculture, sustainability and rural communities; and how they all work together. Alli brings a deep understanding of the agriculture sector and catchment health issues facing rural and remote communities having lived and worked in
rural Victoria and NSW her whole life. Alli, her husband and young family run a mixed farming enterprise at Cassilis NSW, where she is heavily involved in her local community. She comes to the Hunter LLS Board with strong skills in agriculture business, regional and state-wide policy making and program delivery.

Elected Board members

Art Brown, Crawford River

Phone: 0400 136 544 or email

Art has a stud and commercial beef cattle enterprise at Crawford River via Bulahdelah in the Midcoast district with an interest in improved productivity and the control of invasive species and weeds. Art's professional background spanned 43 years in the financial markets and services sector, including risk, change management and process reengineering with an MBA ( Project Management).

Ron Campbell, Merriwa

Phone: 0428 485 153 or email

Ron Campbell is a councillor on the Upper Hunter Shire Council, a member of the Goulbourn River Wild Dog Association and the NSW Farmers Association. Ron has a mixed farming and grazing enterprise at Merriwa, breeding Angus cattle and merino ewes and runs a Dohne stud for prime lamb production. He is qualified in sheep and wool classing, cattle animal nutrition, feed lotting, corporate governance, finance and risk management.

Deborah Willis, Lansdowne

Phone: 0405 440 950 or email

Deborah has been farming her own property at Lansdowne near Taree for 35 years, which included a dairy operation, currently timber harvesting and sawn products as well as a beef enterprise, producing vealers. Deborah has a Diploma in Agriculture, qualifications in the timber Industry, as well as holistic farm management and planning. She is passionate about the importance of agriculture and its role in sustainability for Australia and has 20 years of experience in rural industry representation, including state farming organisations and weeds advisory committees.