Skip to content

Appointed Board members announced

NSW Minister for Primary Industries, Niall Blair today signaled a ‘changing of the guard’ for Local Land Services with the announcement of 45 new chairs and local board members.

“After a rigorous recruitment process, I have appointed a balance of both new and experienced people to the 11 local boards to ensure there is independent representation, strong governance and a good understanding of what’s needed in regional areas,” Mr Blair said.

“As set out in the Local Land Services Act 2013, these chairs and board members have been appointed on merit and on the relevant experience they bring to the organisation.”

Every three years, there are three local board members and a chair who the Minister appoints, while ratepayers elect the remaining members.

Due to the size of the Western Region, four board members and a chair are appointed, and four board members are elected to represent that region.

“The appointed chairs and board members will work together with locally-elected board members to focus on the strategic direction of the organisation, promote services and build strong relationships with investors on the ground,” Mr Blair said.

Chair of the Local Land Service Board of Chairs, Tim de Mestre said the recruitment process had taken longer than anticipated due to the high level of interest from across NSW.

“With more than 400 candidates for 45 positions, we undertook an exhaustive recruitment and assessment process using an external provider to ensure we have the best people for the job,” Mr de Mestre said.

“I also want to thank those board members who are not continuing as they have all contributed to the ongoing development of this fantastic organisation.”

Local Land Services is also gearing up for local elections, which will take place in May 2017 and provides an opportunity for ratepayers to elect local representatives to their boards.

Enrolment forms are available from any Local Land Services office or online.

Ratepayers who already enrolled do not need to re-enrol, but they should inform their nearest Local Land Services office if their contact details have changed.

A full regional list of the newly-appointed board members follows.

MEDIA: Evie Madden | Minister Blair | 0409 682 163

Ministerially-appointed Local Land Services Chairs and Board Members 2017-20

Central Tablelands
Chair: Ian Rogan, Millthorpe
Appointed Board members: Tess Herbert, Eugowra; Pip Job, Geurie; and Reg Kidd, Orange.

Central West
Chair: Susan Madden, Dubbo
Appointed Board members: Ross Sawtell, Dubbo; Emma Thomas, Forbes; Christine White, Coolah

Greater Sydney
Chair: Terry Charlton, Turramurra
Appointed Board members: Nigel Milan, Moss Vale; David Palmer, Mittagong; and the Hon Robert Webster, McMahons Point.

Chair: Lindy Hyam, Lorn
Appointed Board members: James Clark, Anambah; Tony Hegarty, Cassilis; Daryl Dutton, Scone.

Chair: Richard Bull, Holbrook
Appointed Board members: Jennifer Hehir, Finley; Terry Gorman, Balranald; David Wolfenden, Rand.

North Coast
Chair: Bob Smith, Mylestom
Appointed Board members: Mark Bulley, Port Macquarie; Tom Cooper, Bonalbo.

North West
Chair: Conrad Bolton, Wee Waa
Appointed Board members: Richard Clark, Boggabilla; Rebecca Reardon, Moree; and Russell Webb, Duri.

Northern Tablelands
Chair: Hans Hietbrink, Guyra
Appointed Board members: Jim Benton, Glen Innes; Graham Marriott, Inverell; Maria Woods, Walcha.

Chair: Barney Hyams, Batlow
Appointed Board members: Elke Cleverdon, Young; Diana Gibbs, Eunanoreenya; Tony Wallace, Murringo.

South East
Chair: David Mitchell, Delegate
Appointed Board members: Ken Baxter, Robertson; Ian Denney, Grabben Gullen; Alison Harker, Yass.

Chair: Ben Barlow, Corowa
Appointed Board members: Magnus Aitken, Conargo; Nicole Byrnes, Pooncarie; Justin McClure, Tilpa; and Marie Russell AM, Cobar.