Skip to content

Election results announced

Local Lands Services has announced the successful candidates in the inaugural Local Land Service elections.

Local Land Services Chair of the Board of Chairs, John Macarthur-Stanham, said while the elections were not without some issues, they resulted in 34 strong candidates being elected to join the Local Land Services Boards in 11 regions across NSW.

"I congratulate the candidates on their election. They have put up their hands to serve and provide leadership in their regions in this initial phase of Local Land Services' existence," Mr Macarthur-Stanham said.

"While there have been challenges associated with the implementation phase of Local Land Services, this organisation is committed to delivering the highest levels of service to farmers, land managers and the community.

"I welcome the wealth of knowledge and experience the elected Board members will bring to the Board table and the additional regional perspectives which will compliment the skill sets of the appointed Board members."

Mr Macarthur-Stanham also acknowledged that the election process contained some inefficiencies and administration issues, which caused angst for some people.

"The process hasn't been perfect and improvement will be required in conducting future elections." Mr Macarthur-Stanham said.

"Running an election during the height of the transition phase was never going to be easy, but rather than wait until things were bedded down, our primary objective was to get the elected Board members on board as soon as possible.

"We set ourselves an ambitious goal to have our elected Board members in office by the end of March 2014 so that they could make a valuable contribution to the early planning stages of the organisation and we have met that deadline.

"Local Land Services is committed to ensuring that we improve over time and the valid concerns that people have raised around their experiences interacting with our inaugural election process will not be lost."

The Local Land Services Board of Chairs has already commenced a comprehensive review of the election process and will consider potential regulatory, process and statutory changes to ensure future elections are simpler and more streamlined.

The elected Board members will take up their positions by the end of March 2014.

The successful elected Board members are:

Local Land Service
Board members
Central Tablelands
John Seaman
Bruce Gordon
John Lowe
Central West
Donald Schieb
Jenny Bradley
Ian Donges
Greater Sydney
Peter Trahar
Matthew Collins
Ian McDougall
Tony Hegarty
Peter Bishop Jnr 
Ronald Campbell 
Terry Gorman
Graham Allitt
Kenneth Crossley
North Coast
Neil Summerville
Tom Amey
Thomas Cooper
North West
Phillip Kirkby
Penny Blatchford
Mark Evans
Northern Tablelands
David Worsley
Ross King
Timothy Norton
Peter Speirs
John Davey
Helen Dalton
South East
Mac Wilson
Stuart Burge
Barry Gay
Sally Bright
Andrew Mosely
Neill Leigo
Robert Wason

For more information:

Media Enquiries - Jessica Brown 0438 128 966