One week to go in Local Land Services Board elections

Murray Local Land Services ratepayers are being reminded that time is running out and they have a week left to vote for who will be elected to their regional board.

“Our boards are the voice of rural landholders, so we really need to know who they want elected,” said state-wide Chairman of Local Land Services, Richard Bull.

Anyone aged over 18 who pays rates to Local Land Services is eligible to vote and all they need to do is formally request an electronic voting pack by 5pm AEST by next Wednesday, 6 May. Voting is open until 5pm on Friday, 8 May.

To make this request, ratepayers should go to where they can also find details of the candidates standing in their region.

“This opportunity only comes up every few years, so I urge ratepayers not to let it pass by” said Mr Bull.

Nearly 100 candidates are standing for 34 vacant positions on 11 Local Land Services regional boards around the state.

Three new board members will be elected in each Local Land Services region, except for Western, where four will be chosen.

The candidates for the Murray region are Rachel Brindley, Bruce Simpson, Amanda Barlow, Kevin Talbot, Tobias Lehmann, James Johnstone, Troy Mauger, Donald Willox, Norm McAllister and Colin Bull.

“With a lot of challenge and hardship being felt across NSW at present, now more than ever, we need our board members to work closely with land managers and communities to identify and deliver services relevant to local needs,” said Mr Bull.

“We need board members with a commitment to high ethical standards and teamwork who bring unique experiences and knowledge to Local Land Services,” he said.

The skills needed for the boards include leadership, strategic planning, regional service delivery, industry collaboration, audit and risk as well as expertise in primary industries and biosecurity such as pest and weed control.

“It is vital as many Local Land Services ratepayers as possible cast their vote to ensure we get the right mix of skills, knowledge and experience on our boards,” said Mr Bull.

Voting in the election closes at 5 pm AEST next Friday, 8 May with the results to be announced by the end of June.


Media contact: Matt Lane, 02 6051 2252, M 0427 459 755

Related news

Related events

11 Nov 2020 9:00 am - 13 Nov 2020 5:00 pm
National Landcare Conference (Sydney)

The 2020 National Landcare Conference will be held at the International Convention Centre, Darling Harbour in Sydney fro...

View event

Related information